Super Colonies?

I'm no ant expert, but I've seen and heard about some species of ants that can form super colonies through merger! How about adding that in the game? Maybe a multiplayer feature, you and your friend control the same colony! Two queens, double the ant power, and maybe harder enemies? Or this feature(maybe) could have you "accidently" finding another ant colony(in the near future) and possibly merging with it, then you could control both colonies and move the other colony into your existing base.

Serafine

Queen
Backer
Beta Tester
Ecosystem Beta Tester
Ants that form supercolonies essentially think all ants of their own species belong their own colony, so you can take ants from different parts of the world and throw them together and they will merge into one single colony.

The worst offenders are species of Argentine ants (Linepithema humile), Bigheaded ants (Pheidole megacephalia), Garden ants (Lasius neglectus), Yellow crazy ants (Anopolepis gracilis), Black crazy ants (Paratrechina longicornis) and a few others - all of which are highly invasive species that can do tremendous damage to ecosystems they don't belong into, up to the point of eradicating entire species.
Solenopsis invicta (red imported fire ants) are also starting to take steps towards this as increasingly common sightings of highly polygynous colonies with dozens of queens indicate (they don't form supercolonies yet, but having a large number of queens in a colony is a good start).

I agree that it would be interesting to have satellite colonies with multiple queens in the game but most likely these additional queens would have to be very very expensive and I'm actually not entirely sure how good the game's interface would be at managing multiple colonies.

MikeSlugDisco

Community Manager
Staff member
Community Manager