Disappointed with Ant Upgrades..

buckZor

Larva
I'm new to the game, I'm a completionist type-a idiot so, my focus thus far has just been on complete domination of 1.1. I've completed up through Hard difficulty (standard) and up through Medium difficulty (challenge). Thus far, I am quite disappointed that upgrading ants is really counter intuitive. In the scenario it costs you nothing to dig, so the only benefit I can even see is space saving (from a tile perspective) which is meaningless since digging is free. By my own play testing more level 1 ants is always more important than the cost of level 2 or 3 ants. By skimming the forum I see that some of the ant types like Mortar ants have a level 3 bonus that (supposedly) makes it worth it.

I don't really have a proposal, I just wanted to express my disappointment that (in my limited experience) so far this is a zerg style swarm game. The free digging even encourages the large fight chambers so you can get all of your ants swarmed around. I suppose it's realistic, that is how ants fight in reality.

All that said, I freeking LOVE ants, and I am very supportive of your endeavor here. I am quite upset that I didn't discover you in the funding stage. Life is just so busy, I can't keep up anymore. So keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing the game progress and evolve. Thank you for making this game.

Rayalot72

Maximum difficulty
Beta Tester
Extremely Helpful Person
Yah, I feel like upgrades need some more incentive.

In particular, the warriors in 2.1 and 2.2 are a joke, as their HP isn't enough compared to the equivalent worker spam, and spitters are always going to be better at DPS.

Warriors in particular could really use some more strength. Damage is useless, even with lvl 3 attack speed, so they could really use far more HP upon improvement to make them highly desirable.